Critical Vulnerabilities Detected in New RCS SMS Standard

Not so long ago, Google, with the support of American mobile operators, began to develop a new standard for calls and messages RCS, designed to improve traditional methods of communication. True, so far the success of the development leaves much to be desired.
The day before, the experts of the research company SRLabs discovered a hole in the security system of the new standard. According to experts, the new technology in its current form is an easy target for hackers.
The verification showed that many telecom operators are inattentive to the verification of certificates and domains, which may give attackers the opportunity to obtain a configuration file containing confidential user information.
In addition, the imperfection of the basic nodes of the new standard opens the way for hackers to obtain IP addresses, intercept traffic, steal passwords, track users and other hacker attacks.

В новом стандарте смс-сообщений RCS выявлены критические уязвимости

Не так давно Google при поддержке американских мобильных операторов начала разрабатывать новый стандарт звонков и сообщений RCS, призванный усовершенствовать традиционные методы общения. Правда, пока что успехи разработки оставляют желать лучшего.
Накануне эксперты исследовательской компании SRLabs обнаружили дыру в системе безопасности нового стандарта. Согласно отчету специалистов, новая технология в ее нынешнем проявлении представляет собой легкую мишень для хакеров.
Проверка показала, что многие операторы связи невнимательно относятся к проверке сертификатов и доменов, что может дать злоумышленникам возможность получить файл конфигурации, содержащий конфиденциальную информацию о пользователе.
Кроме того несовершенство базовых узлов нового стандарта открывает хакерам дорогу к получению IP-адресов, перехватам трафика, краже паролей, слежению за пользователями и другим хакерским атакам.