Google decided to abandon the Google Daydream platform, considering it unpromising

After three years of supporting the Google Daydream platform, the American corporation decided to abandon its development. Google executives considered the proprietary virtual reality platform to be unviable.
“We believed that virtual reality on a mobile device has a great future. However, later we came to the understanding that due to some restrictions in the long run, this project is not viable, ”representatives of the American corporation said the other day.
In fact, the main problem that Google faced was the support of the platform with just a few smartphones, which is why the idea did not receive significant distribution. First, third-party manufacturers refused to create software for the platform, and then Google itself did the same.
Released resources will be directed to developments in the field of augmented reality.

Google решила отказаться от платформы Google Daydream, посчитав ее бесперспективной

После трех лет поддержки платформы Google Daydream, американская корпорация приняла решение отказаться от ее развития. В руководстве Google посчитали, что фирменная платформа виртуальной реальности оказалась нежизнеспособной.
«Мы считали, что у виртуальной реальности на мобильном устройстве большое будущее. Однако впоследствии мы пришли к пониманию того, что из-за некоторых ограничений в долгосрочной перспективе данный проект нежизнеспособен», – заявили на днях представители американской корпорации.
По сути, главной проблемой, с которой столкнулась Google, стала поддержка платформы всего несколькими смартфонами, из-за чего идея и не получила существенного распространения. Сначала сторонние производители отказались создавать программное обеспечение под платформу, а затем так же поступила и сама Google.
Освободившиеся ресурсы будут направлены на разработки в сфере дополненной реальности.