Scientists from the US have found a way to produce ultra-thin lenses for smartphones

Each new generation of smartphones has a more and more advanced camera. True, paying for an increasing number of sensor pixels is the thickness of the modules that protrude from the body of the mobile device. A group of American scientists decided to rectify this situation by embarking on the development of a new ultrathin type of lens.
Scientists from the US have found a way to produce ultra-thin lenses for smartphones

A lens made of plastic is many times thinner than a human hair, unlike a glass lens, which has a thickness of several millimeters. If a standard lens reflects the image onto the matrix of a smartphone, then a new type of lens will consist of a large number of microstructures that reflect light on the sensor. Using special calculation algorithms, you can now start the production of lenses.
In addition to applications in smartphone manufacturing, lenses of a new type can be used in night vision devices due to their high fineness. According to scientists, the production of new-generation lenses will be significantly cheaper than the production of glass optics.

Ученые из США нашли способ производства сверхтонких линз для смартфонов

Каждое новое поколение смартфонов отличается все более и более продвинутой камерой. Правда, платить за возрастающее количество пикселей сенсоров приходится толщиной модулей, которые выпирают из корпуса мобильного устройства. Исправить эту ситуацию решила группа американских ученых, приступив к разработке нового сверхтонкого типа линз.
Ученые из США нашли способ производства сверхтонких линз для смартфонов

Созданная из пластика линза во много раз тоньше человеческого волоса в отличие от стеклянной линзы, которая имеет толщину в несколько миллиметров. Если стандартная линза отражает изображение на матрицу смартфона, то линзы нового типа будут состоять из большого количества микроструктур, отражающих свет на сенсор. Применяя специальные алгоритмы расчета, можно уже сейчас начать производство линз.
Кроме применения в смартфоностроении, линзы нового типа из-за высокой тонкости можно использовать в устройствах ночного видения. По информации ученых, производство линз нового поколения будет ощутимо дешевле производства стеклянной оптики.