In 2016, Google was only at the last moment afraid to release a smart watch

The second half of 2019 is in the yard, and Google has still not brought smart watches to the market, although conversations about them in one way or another arise quite regularly. Recent Business Insider material says that the first model of smart watches from Google could be released back in 2016, but at the very last moment the American company decided that the product was “damp” and did not meet the high standards of the company.
It is reported that Rick Osterlo, who came from Motorola to Google, excluded smart watches from the company's presentation just a few hours before its start. The top manager did not like the functionality of the watch or its design. Osterlo came to the conclusion that an incompletely developed product can do more harm than good, hurt Google’s reputation.
At the same time, the company has everything necessary for the release of smart watches, the Wear OS smart watch operating system has long been ready. Perhaps the conclusion of a 40-million contract with the American watchmaker Fossil for the purchase of technology will allow Google to finally release branded smart watches.

Business Insider: «В 2016 году Google лишь в последний момент побоялась выпустить умные часы»

На дворе вторая половина 2019 года, а Google так до сих пор и не вывела на рынок умные часы, хоть разговоры о них в том или ином ключе возникают довольно регулярно. Недавний материал Business Insider рассказывает о том, что первая модель умных часов от Google могла быть выпущена в далеком 2016 году, но в самый последний момент американская компания решила, что продукт «сыроват» и не соответствует высоким стандартам компании.
Сообщается, что пришедший из Motorola в Google Рик Остерло исключил умные часы из презентации компании буквально за несколько часов до ее начала. Топ-менеджеру не понравились ни функционал часов, ни их дизайн. Остерло пришел к выводу, что не до конца доработанный продукт может принести больше вреда, нежели пользы, больно ударив по репутации Google.
Вместе с тем компания обладает всем необходимым для выпуска умных часов, операционная система для умных часов Wear OS давно готова. Возможно, заключение 40-миллионного договора с американским производителем часов Fossil на покупку технологий позволит Google, наконец, выпустить фирменные умные часы.